NCCs in France

  /    /  NCCs in France

National Choreographic Centres

The national choreographic centres (NCC) are major players in the vitality and structuring of choreographic creation in France and its international influence, and are one of the labels of the Ministry of Culture and Communication.

To consolidate choreographic life, in 1984 the Ministry of Culture, in conjunction with local authorities, initiated the creation of national choreographic centres, which have made it possible to establish choreographers in territories and develop centres of creation around them.

Representing a wide range of dance languages and forms, the 19 NCCs develop the creative activity of the artist or artists who direct them, and disseminate their work. They also provide support for independent artists and companies in the form of studio residencies or artists’ associations.

Finally, the NCCs develop a policy for the transmission of choreographic culture and artistic and cultural education, and act as a resource centre for dance in their area.

source: Ministry of Culture


The Association of National Choreographic Centres (ANCC) was created in 1995 in Caen, some fifteen years after the first NCCs appeared.

The aim of the ANCC is to organise exchanges and debates between the teams of the National Choreographic Centres, around the missions entrusted to them by the State and local authorities: creation, dissemination, hosting and residency of companies, choreographic development, training, memory, and sometimes programming.
These reflections are put into perspective with the field of public policies in favour of live performance, and feed into dialogues with a large number of players in cultural and artistic life.

The ANCC is also a platform for the circulation of information (particularly technical), for the use of its members and public partners such as the Direction Générale de la Création Artistique (DGCA) / Ministère de la Culture.

Finally, the ANCC’s aim is to ensure that the views and positions of choreographers-directors are heard collectively.

The ANCC operates thanks to membership fees and the financial support of the Ministère de la Culture / Direction Générale de la Création Artistique.

The ANCC currently brings together all 19 national choreographic centres.

The association’s officers are elected for one year by its members at the annual General Meeting.
The ANCC organises regular meetings in Paris and in the regions.

ANCC / Key dates :

> 1995: creation of the association in Caen
> 2005: publication of L’Art en présence (edited by Dominique Orvoine)
> 2008: creation of a permanent coordination / general secretariat post


General secretary :
Frédéric Pérouchine

Coordination officer :
Thomas Da Silva Antunes

NCCs in France

Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin Bruno Bouché
Malandain Ballet Biarritz Thierry Malandain
CCN de Caen / Basse Normandie Alban Richard
CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne Collectif Faire (Bouside Aït-Atmane, Iffra Dia, Johanna Faye, Linda Hayford, Saïdo Lehlouh, et Ousmane Sy)
CCN de Tours Thomas Lebrun
CCN d’Orléans Maud Le Pladec
CCN Franche-Comté à Belfort Héla Fattoumi – Eric Lamoureux
CCN du Havre Fouad Boussouf
CCN de Créteil Mourad Merzouki
CCN de Montpellier Christian Rizzo
Ballet de Lorraine Peter Jacobsson
Ballet du Nord Sylvain Groud
CCN de Nantes Ambra Senatore
Centre National de Danse Contemporaine Angers Noé Soulier
CCN de La Rochelle / Cie Accrorap Kader Attou
Ballet Preljocaj Angelin Preljocaj
Ballet National de Marseille La Horde
CCN de Grenoble Yoann Bourgeois & Rachid Ouramdan
CCN de Rillieux-le-Pape Yuval Pick