Biography


Born on the 13th April 1959 in Petit-Quevilly, Thierry Malandain followed the usual path of a classical dancer but with a strong taste for the unconventional and an unusual tenacity. Instead of undertaking training in famous institutions, he followed the teachings of Jacques Chaurand, Monique Le Dily, René Bon, Daniel Franck, Gilbert Mayer and Raymond Franchetti. All of them are eminent and engaging teachers with a strong and picturesque personality... Violette Verdy, who chaired the Prix de Lausanne at which Thierry Malandain competed in 1978, hired him to join the Paris Opera Ballet for the season 1977-1978. There, he met Jean Sarelli, who was then "The" ballet master, and followed him when Sarelli took over the direction of the Ballet du Rhin. Thierry Malandain stayed in Mulhouse until 1980 and then joined the Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy, directed by Hélène Traïline and Jean-Albert Cartier, until 1986. He successfully made his first experiences as a choreographer during the six years he stayed in Lorraine. In 1984, he won the 1st Prize of the Volinine competition with Quatuor op3, to a score by Guillaume Lekeu. In 1985 and 1986, he succeeded Maguy Marin as winner of the 1st Prize of Nyon choreographic competition in Switzerland with Sonatine, to a score by Karlheinz Stockhausen, and Métamorphosis, to the music of Benjamin Britten. At this time, Thierry Malandain was already ambitious and very demanding in his choice of music.  

In 1986, Thierry Malandain made a bet. He left the Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy with eight dancers and set up the Compagnie Temps Présent in Elancourt (78), in the suburbs of Paris. He deliberately chose to get off the beaten track and undertake a mammoth task. The following season, he was awarded by the Fondation de la Vocation and the Fondation Oulmont and won the 1st Prize of La Baule choreographic competition, the 1st Prize of Vaison-la-Romaine choreographic competition and the Prix de la Nuit des Jeunes Créateurs in Paris with Angelin Preljocaj and Claude Brumachon. Thierry Malandain began to make himself known as a promising young talent thanks to several works: ­­L'Homme aux semelles de vent (1986), created to the music of Benjamin Britten and staged again under the title Les Illuminations (1989) for the dancer Patrick Dupond and the Ballet National de Nancy, Edgar Allan Poe (1988), to scores by Claude Debussy and André Caplet, and especially Folksongs (1986), choreographed to the music of Benjamin Britten and performed by several companies, including the Ballet de Tours of Jean-Christophe Maillot. As people only talked about the “jeune danse française” in 1988, Thierry Malandain, like his colleagues, contributed to the development of dance in the suburbs while proclaiming his attachment to the vocabulary of classical dance. He even created ballets for opera house companies, such as Danses qu'on croise (1987), choreographed to the music of Johannes Brahms for the Ballet de l'Opéra de Nantes. His unique positioning was confusing for the French choreographic community but not for the international audience. On the contrary, people, especially in Belgium, started to talk about the French choreographer who achieved the feat of creating Les Sylphides, to the music of Frédéric Chopin for the Ballet royal de Wallonie, and Petite Lune, to a score by Dmitri Shostakovitch for the Royal Ballet of Flanders, in the same year (1990).

In 1991, Thierry Malandain created Pulcinella by Igor Stravinsky on the stage of the previously called Maison de la Culture in Saint-Etienne. At this time, the director Jean-Louis Pichon was trying to turn the institution into an Opera Theatre—named L’Esplanade in 1994. He needed a choreographer who would be sensitive to music and able to have a strong presence on the ground. He invited the Compagnie Temps Présent for a residence in Saint-Etienne. This event marked the beginning of a collaboration that lasted six years, during which the choreographer created several of his best-known ballets: La Fleur de pierre (1994) by Sergei Prokofiev, L'Après-Midi d'un faune (1995) by Claude Debussy, Ballet mécanique (1996) by Georges Antheil, Sextet (1996) by Steve Reich, Casse Noisette (1997) by Piotr Illitch Tchaikovsky... It was also during these years that Thierry Malandain came up with the original idea of recreating the ballets composed by Jules Massenet.

In 1997, the French Ministry of Culture and Communication and the City of Biarritz offered Thierry Malandain to set up the first classical Centre Chorégraphique Contemporain in the Basque coastal resort of Biarritz. It happened so fast that the Centre Chorégraphique National - Ballet Biarritz opened in September 1998 in the Gare du Midi, a large building abandoned by trains and whose two big square towers overlook Biarritz pleasant gardens.

The company did not reduce its activity. With the support of Jean-Louis Pichon, Thierry Malandain began to recreate the complete works of Massenet (Le Cid, Le Carillon and Cigale) from 1999. In 2000, La Chambre d'Amour, a musical creation by Peio Çabalette telling a beautiful local legend, came as a tribute to the new integration of the choreographer in the city. In 2001, Thierry Malandain paid tribute to the Ballets Russes by creating an eloquent, touching and audacious programme.

In 2003, Ballet Biarritz took a major creative step with Les Créatures, choreographed to the music of Ludwig van Beethoven. This powerful, graphic and ambitious work engendered a feeling of maturity and poise that earned the Ballet greater recognition. For the first time in its history, the troupe officially performed in Paris (Théâtre national de Chaillot) thanks to Dominique Hervieu and José Montalvo, while Les Créatures were nominated at the Benois de la Danse in Moscow and received the Critics Prize at the 19th International Ballet Festival of Havana in Cuba.

In 2004, Le Sang des Etoiles confirmed the company’s success. The CCN then became one of the most productive choreographic centres, with the biggest number of performances per year and a strong international presence. The institution also grew in strength. In 2000, Thierry Malandain's ability to create unanimity led him almost naturally to the head of the Temps d'Aimer festival, organised in Biarritz. In the same year, he founded a cross-border junior ballet in collaboration with the Basque Spanish community in Donostia-San Sebastián. He juggled all these projects during four years.

In 2005, the choreographer gave up his post as artistic director of Le Temps d'Aimer festival to focus on his work. He then created two works based on the spirit of Pre-romantic ballet: Les Petits Riens (2005), to the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and Don Juan (2006), to a score by Christoph Willibald Gluck. In the meantime, the Paris Opera Ballet commissioned Thierry Malandain to create L'Envol d'Icare (2006), a ballet set to a score by Alfred Schnittke, which was later nominated at the Benois de la Danse in Moscow. Most of Thierry Malandain’s ballets are now listed in the repertoire of other big companies worldwide, such as the Sadamatsu Hamada Ballet, the Teatro di San Carlo of Naples, the Staatsoper and the Volksoper in Vienna and numerous ballet troupes from Caracas, Hong Kong, West Palm Beach, Aspen, Cairo, Riga, Tunis, and Karlsruhe... In France, his works entered the repertoire of the Ballet de l'Opéra national du Rhin, the Ballet national de Marseille, the Ballet de l'Opéra national de Bordeaux, the Ballet du Capitole de Toulouse…

In 2008, Thierry Malandain created L'Amour sorcier by Manuel de Falla and Le Portrait de l'Infante, choreographed to the music of Maurice Ravel. In this ballet, the dancers performed around three Ménines of Manolo Valdès, a Spanish painter and sculptor influenced by Diego Vélasquez. Thierry Malandain began to miss the fieldwork. By the end of 2008, after having celebrated the ten years of his company in Biarritz, the choreographer resumed his post as artistic director of Le Temps d'Aimer festival to the request of Didier Borotra, the mayor of the city. In December, Thierry Malandain staged a new production of Carmen (1996), to the music of Franz Schubert. This work marked his appointment to the head of the CCN Ballet Biarritz.

In August 2009, Thierry Malandain was made an “officier” in the Order of Arts and Letters. The new name of the company, "Malandain Ballet Biarritz", heralded a new era for the choreographer. Two new creations followed: Magifique (2009), to the music of Piotr Illitch Tchaikovsky and Roméo et Juliette (2010) by Hector Berlioz. Both found favour with audiences and critics. For the second time of his career, Thierry Malandain collaborated with a composer, Guillaume Connesson, resulting in the ballet Lucifer (2011). The score was interpreted by the Orchestre de Pau Pays de Béarn, conducted by Fayçal Karoui, who is also the musical director of the New York City Ballet. In 2012, the Opéra de Reims commissioned Thierry Malandain to create a ballet to celebrate the tenth anniversary of their fruitful collaboration. As he was given a free rein, the choreographer chose to explore an unusual musical world by using traditional French songs interpreted by Le Poème Harmonique of Vincent Dumestre to create Une Dernière Chanson. This work was awarded by the Grand Prix du Syndicat de la Critique Théâtre, Musique et Danse in the dance category in 2012.

In 2013, as Malandain Ballet Biarritz gave more than hundred performances per year, Thierry Malandain created Cendrillon to the music of Sergei Prokofiev to the request of Laurent Bruenner, the director of the Opéra royal de Versailles. The performances of this ballet were given on the wonderful stage of the Royal Opera of the Palace of Versailles with the accompaniment of the Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi from Donostia-San Sebastián, conducted by Josep Caballé-Domenech. A triumph of humanity, Cendrillon was unanimously acclaimed by the press and audiences. In 2014, Thierry Malandain was named “Best Choreographer” at the Taglioni European Ballet Awards, organised by the Malakhov Foundation in Berlin.

French association of professional critics gave the "Best company » of the year 2017 Award to the Malandain Ballet Biarritz following its performances of Noah in Chaillot, national theatre of the Danse.

In a few dates


1959                                                                                                                                          
Born in Petit-Quevilly (Seine-Maritime, France)
He followed the teaching of Monique Le Dily, René Bon, Daniel Franck, Gilbert Mayer and Raymond Franchetti.

1977                                                                                                                                            
He had a career as a dancer at the Paris National Opera, the Ballet of the Rhine and the French Ballet Theatre in Nancy

1986                                                                                                                                         
Ended his career as a dancer to found the company «Temps Présent» in Élancourt (Yvelines)

1992                                                                                                                                        
Settled in the Opera of Saint-Étienne as an «Associated company»

1998                                                                                                                                            
Was appointed by the French Ministry of Culture to the head of the new Centre Chorégraphique National in Biarritz

2004
Nomination for the Benois de la danse and Critic Awards « Best international performance » at the XIXth International Ballet Festival of Havana in Cuba for Les Créatures

2005
Culture Award of the Sabino Arana Fondation in Bilbao

2006
Received his second nomination for the prize at the Benois de la danse with L’Envol d’Icare created for the Ballet of the Paris National Opera

2009
Once again appointed artistic director of the Dance Festival in Biarritz «Le Temps d’Aimer la Danse»

2012
Award for Une Dernière chanson by the «Syndicat de la critique»

2014
Taglioni European Ballet Award «best choreographer» in Berlin for the ballet Cinderella

2017
« Best company » of the year Award by the « Association professionnelle de la Critique » for Noah 

Documentaries

Biographie


 Thierry Malandain né le 13 avril 1959 à Petit-Quevilly, a suivi le parcours naturel du danseur classique, mais avec un goût marqué pour les marges et une ténacité hors du commun. Ainsi, plutôt que de suivre les grandes formations reconnues, il passe par l’enseignement de Jacques Chaurand, Monique Le Dily, René Bon, Daniel Franck, Gilbert Mayer et Raymond Franchetti : tous éminents et passionnants enseignants à la personnalité aussi forte que pittoresque… Violette Verdy qui préside le concours de Lausanne où il se présente en 1978, l’engage à l’Opéra de Paris pour la saison 1977-1978. Il y rencontre Jean Sarelli, alors « Le » maître de ballet, et le suit lorsque ce dernier prend la direction du Ballet du Rhin. Thierry Malandain reste à Mulhouse jusqu’en 1980, puis rejoint le Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy que dirige Hélène Traïline et Jean-Albert Cartier. Cela jusqu’en 1986. C’est au cours de ces six années lorraines qu’il fait, avec succès, ses premières expériences de chorégraphe : en 1984, il obtient le 1er Prix du concours Volinine avec Quatuor op3, musique de Guillaume Lekeu, puis après Maguy Marin, en 1985 et 1986, le 1er Prix du concours de Nyon en Suisse avec Sonatine, musique de Karlheinz Stockhausen et Métamorphosis, musique de Benjamin Britten. On notera déjà le choix très exigeant de la musique et l’ambition de ses propositions.  

En 1986, Thierry Malandain fait un pari. Il quitte le  Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy  avec huit danseurs et fonde la compagnie Temps Présent qui s’installe à Elancourt (78), en banlieue parisienne. C’est délibérément choisir les marges et s’assurer d'un travail de titan. Dès la saison suivante, il est lauréat de la Fondation de la Vocation, de la Fondation Oulmont et reçoit le 1er Prix du concours chorégraphique de La Baule, le 1er Prix du concours chorégraphique de Vaison-la-Romaine, et à Paris avec Angelin Preljocaj et Claude Brumachon, le Prix de la Nuit des Jeunes Créateurs… Des pièces comme l’Homme aux semelles de vent (1986) sur une musique de Benjamin Britten, devenue  Les Illuminations (1989) pour le danseur Patrick Dupond et le Ballet National de Nancy, ou Edgar Allan Poe (1988) qui s’appuie sur des partitions de Claude Debussy et André Caplet et surtout Folksongs (1986) sur une musique de Benjamin  Britten - repris par plusieurs compagnies - dont le Ballet de Tours de Jean-Christophe Maillot - contribuent à le faire reconnaître comme un jeune talent prometteur. Alors qu’en pleine année de la danse (1988) on ne parle que des aventures de la Jeune Danse Française, Thierry Malandain est ce chorégraphe qui, comme ses collègues, travaille au développement de la danse en banlieue mais en revendiquant son attachement au vocabulaire classique. Il chorégraphie même des ballets pour les troupes des maisons d’opéra comme Danses qu’on croise (1987), sur une musique de Johannès Brahms pour le Ballet de l'Opéra de Nantes. Ce singulier positionnement déconcerte le milieu chorégraphique français mais n’entrave pas l’audience internationale. Au contraire, on commence à parler, en Belgique en particulier, du Français qui crée la même année (1990) Les Sylphides, sur une musique de Frédéric Chopin pour le Ballet royal de Wallonie et Petite Lune (musique de Dmitri Chostakovitch) pour le Ballet royal de Flandres, une performance…

En 1991, Thierry Malandain monte Pulcinella d’Igor Stravinski sur la scène de ce qui est encore la Maison de la Culture de Saint-Etienne. Le directeur, Jean-Louis Pichon est en train de guider l’institution vers son nouveau rôle d’Opéra-Théâtre (il deviendra L’Esplanade en 1994). Il sait qu’il a besoin d’un chorégraphe sensible à la musique et capable de proposer une activité forte sur le terrain. Il propose à la compagnie Temps Présent de l’accueillir en résidence à Saint-Etienne. C’est le début d’une aventure de six ans qui verra le chorégraphe créer plusieurs de ses ballets les plus repérés : La Fleur de pierre (1994) de Serge Prokofiev, l’Après midi d’un faune (1995) de Claude Debussy, Ballet mécanique (1996) de Georges Antheil, Sextet (1996) de Steve Reich, Casse Noisette (1997) de Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski... et engager une très originale démarche : recréer les ballets du compositeur stéphanois Jules Massenet.

C’est alors en 1997 que le chorégraphe reçoit une proposition : le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et la ville de Biarritz lui offrent de fonder dans la station balnéaire basque le premier Centre Chorégraphique Contemporain de style classique. L’affaire se déroule assez rapidement au point que dès septembre 1998, le Centre Chorégraphique National - Ballet Biarritz voit le jour et s’installe dans la Gare du Midi, vaste édifice déserté par les trains et qui domine de ses deux hautes tours carrées la douceur des jardins biarrots.

L’activité de la compagnie n’en diminue pas. A partir de 1999, toujours soutenue par Jean-Louis Pichon, commence l’intégrale Massenet, avec Le CidLe Carillon et Cigale. En 2000, La Chambre d’Amour, création musicale de Peio Çabalette évoque une belle légende locale comme hommage au nouvel ancrage du chorégraphe. En 2001, c’est un fameux programme d’Hommage aux Ballets russes plein de verve et d’irrévérence qui attendrit.

En 2003, avec Les Créatures, musique de Ludwig van Beethoven, Ballet Biarritz franchit une étape créative importante. La pièce, forte, graphique, ambitieuse, dégage un sentiment de maturité et d’aisance qui lui assure une reconnaissance importante. Pour la première fois, grâce à Dominique Hervieu et José Montalvo, la troupe se produit officiellement à Paris (Théâtre national de Chaillot), tandis qu’à Moscou, Les Créatures sont nominées aux Benois de la Danse et recoivent à Cuba, le Prix de la Critique du XIXème festival International de Ballet de La Havane.

En 2004, Le Sang des Etoiles conforte ce succès. C’est à partir de ce moment que le CCN devient l’un de ceux assurant le plus grand nombre de représentations annuelles accompagné d’une forte présence internationale. L’institution monte aussi en puissance. En 2000, sa capacité à susciter l’accord amène presque naturellement Thierry Malandain à la tête du Temps d’Aimer, festival qu’organise la ville. La même année, il fonde à Donostia-San Sebastián un junior ballet transfrontalier avec la collectivité basque espagnole. Pendant quatre ans, tout cela est mené de front.

En 2005, souhaitant se concentrer sur son travail, le chorégraphe abandonne la direction artistique du festival le Temps d’Aimer. Il enchaîne alors deux pièces sur l’esprit du ballet préromantique, Les Petits Riens (2005) de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart et Don Juan (2006) sur la partition de Christoph Willibald Gluck tandis que sur une musique d’Alfred  Schnittke, il honore avec L’Envol d’Icare (2006), nominé à Moscou aux Benois de la Danse, sa première commande pour le Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris. Nombreuses des 80 œuvres de Thierry Malandain sont d’ailleurs au répertoire d’autres grandes compagnies, de Caracas à Hong Kong, en passant par West Palm Beach, Aspen, le Caire, Riga, Tunis, Karlsruhe ou encore au Sadamatsu Hamada Ballet, au Teatro di San Carlo de Naples, au Staatsoper, au Volksoper de Vienne. En France, au Ballet de l'Opéra national du Rhin, au Ballet national de Marseille, au Ballet de l’Opéra national de Bordeaux, au Ballet du Capitole de Toulouse, etc.

2008, c’est l’année de L’Amour sorcier de Manuel de Falla et à l'écoute de Diego Vélasquez, Le Portrait de l’infante, musique de Maurice Ravel avec sur scène trois Ménines du peintre et sculpteur espagnol, Manolo Valdès. Mais il faut croire qu’il est impossible de s’éloigner du travail de terrain. Fin 2008, après avoir fêté les dix ans de présence dans la ville, à la demande de Didier Borotra, maire de Biarritz, le chorégraphe reprend la direction du festival le Temps d’Aimer. Ce qui ne l’empêche pas de remonter en décembre une nouvelle production de Carmen (1996), musique de Franz Schubert, l’œuvre qui décida de sa nomination à la tête du CCN Ballet Biarritz.

En août 2009, Thierry Malandain est élevé au grade d’officier des Arts et Lettres. C’est avec une nouvelle appellation « Malandain Ballet Biarritz » que débute pour le chorégraphe une nouvelle ère. S'ensuivent la création de Magifique (2009), musique de Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski et du Roméo et Juliette (2010) d’Hector Berlioz, deux ballets qui rencontrent les faveurs du public et de la critique. Avec Lucifer (2011), Thierry Malandain, pour la seconde fois de sa carrière collabore avec un compositeur, Guillaume Connesson. La partition est créée par l'Orchestre de Pau Pays de Béarn dirigé par son chef Fayçal Karoui, également directeur musical du New York City Ballet. En 2012, pour fêter les dix ans d'une riche collaboration, l'Opéra de Reims passe commande d'un ballet auprès de Thierry Malandain. Ayant carte blanche, le chorégraphe en profite pour explorer un autre univers musical en réglant Une Dernière chanson sur des chants traditionnels français interprétés par Le Poème Harmonique de Vincent Dumestre. Cette oeuvre est récompensée par le Grand Prix - catégorie danse - du Syndicat de la Critique Théâtre, Musique et Danse en 2012.

En 2013, alors que le Malandain Ballet Biarritz dépasse désormais les cent représentations annuelles, à la demande de Laurent Brunner, directeur de l'Opéra royal de Versailles, le chorégraphe créé Cendrillon sur la partition de Serge Prokofiev. Outre le merveilleux écrin de l'Opéra royal du Château de Versailles, sous la direction de Josep Caballé-Domenech, les représentations bénéficieront du concours de l’Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi originaire de Donostia-San Sebastián. Triomphe d'humanité, Cendrillon fait l’unanimité de la presse et du public et en 2014, Thierry Malandain reçoit à Berlin le Prix du meilleur chorégraphe aux Taglioni European Ballet Awards décerné par la fondation Malakhov.

Dates clés


1959

Naissance au Petit-Quevilly (Seine-Maritime)

Reçoit l’enseignement de Monique Le Dily, René Bon, Daniel Franck, Gilbert Mayer et Raymond Franchetti.

1977

Carrière d’interprète à l’Opéra national de Paris, au Ballet du Rhin et au Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy

1986

Fonde la Compagnie Temps Présent à Elancourt (Yvelines)

1992

Installation à l’Esplanade Saint-Etienne Opéra, en qualité de Compagnie Associée

1998

Nomination par la Ministre de la Culture et de la Communication à la direction du nouveau Centre Chorégraphique National de Biarritz

2006

Seconde nomination à Moscou aux Benois de la Danse avec l’Envol d’Icare créé pour le Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

2009

Directeur artistique du Festival de danse de Biarritz, Le Temps d’Aimer la Danse

2012

Grand Prix du Syndicat de la Critique pour Une Dernière chanson

2014

Taglioni European Ballet Awards du meilleur chorégraphe pour Cendrillon

2017

Prix de la "Meilleure compagnie" de l'année par l'Association professionnelle de la Critique pour Noé

Documentaires