Noah - Creation 2017 Malandain / Rossini


 

“In the Flood myth common to various different cultural traditions, the jubilant gure of Noah embodies a kind of breakthrough in humanity’s history. In summing up the past and preparing us for the future, Noah symbolises the coming of a new and better world. This second Creation erases the rst, which has been wrought by the machinations of evil and humanity’s degeneration. This is a new Adam, drawn from water rather than the earth, who, in Genesis, acts rst as a mortal and then a symbol of life because, upon leaving the womb and cradle that is the Ark, Noah and his offspring will repopulate the world.

This epic tale is one in a long line of similar stories and can be interpreted on several levels. Saint Augustin sought to show that the Ark’s proportions were the same as the human body’s, “which is also the body of Christ, which is also the Church”, while Paul Claudel saw the salvational Ark as a cathedral, its nave the prow of a ship navigating the heavens.

We might also imagine Noah as humanity collectively seeking refuge within itself to cast off a past existence and start afresh, mining the abyss of its own being for new sources of energy. That is why, with the exception of the dove - a sign of hope in a new life -, we will not board all the animals. Instead, the movement of humanity will be represented by the symbolic, dancing gure of Noah beneath the light of a new sun.”

Thierry Malandain 


CREATION 2017

 

Creation / Basque Eurocity

Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián

January 14th and 15th 2017

 

Creation / French Premiere

Chaillot - Théâtre National de la Danse (Paris)

beetween May 10th and 24th 2017

 

Music Gioacchino Rossini - Messa di Gloria

Choreography Thierry Malandain

Set and costumes Jorge Gallardo

Lighting design Francis Mannaert

Dressmaker Véronique Murat

Set and accessories production Frédéric Vadé

 

Coproducers Chaillot – Théâtre National de la Danse (Paris), Opéra de Saint-Etienne, Donostia Kultura - Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián – Ballet T, CCN Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

Partners Opéra de Reims, Théâtre de Gascogne - Le Pôle, Theater Bonn (Germany), Forum am Schlosspark - Ludwigsburg (Germany)

 

Lenght 70’

Ballet for 22 dancers

Noé - Création 2017 Malandain / Rossini


 

A travers le mythe du Déluge, commun à diverses traditions, la figure réjouissante de Noé incarne une sorte de rupture dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Résumant le passé et préparant l'avenir, elle symbolise la naissance d’un nouveau monde, meilleur que le précédent. Une seconde Création gommant la première altérée par le mal et la défaillance des hommes. Par conséquent, un nouvel Adam, non pas tiré de la terre, mais tiré de l’eau, qui dans la Genèse intervient d’abord comme un élément mortel avant d’être symbole de vie, puisqu’au sortir de l’Arche, à la fois matrice et berceau, Noé et les siens vont repeupler le Monde.

Ce récit qui fait suite à des épopées de même nature s'interprète à plusieurs niveaux. Ainsi, Saint-Augustin s’essaya à démontrer que les proportions de l’Arche correspondaient à celles du corps humain, « qui est aussi le corps du Christ, qui est aussi l’Église », tandis que Paul Claudel fit de l’Arche salvatrice une cathédrale, une nef naviguant dans le ciel.

On peut aussi imaginer faire de Noé un être humain collectif montant dans l’arche de lui-même, pour liquider une existence passée et repartir de zéro en allant puiser de nouvelles énergies dans les abysses de son être. C’est pourquoi, excepté la colombe, signe d’espérance d’une nouvelle vie, nous n’embarquerons pas l’intégrale des animaux, juste une humanité en mouvement, figure symbolique et dansante de Noé aux rayons d’un soleil nouveau.

Thierry Malandain


CRÉATION 2017 

 

Création / Eurocité Basque

Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián

les 14 et 15 janvier 2017

 

Création / première française

Chaillot – Théâtre National de la Danse (Paris)

du 10 au 24 mai 2017

 

Musique Gioacchino Rossini - Messa di Gloria

Chorégraphie Thierry Malandain

Décor et costumes Jorge Gallardo

Conception lumière Francis Mannaert

Réalisation costumes Véronique Murat

Conception décor et accessoires Frédéric Vadé

 

Coproduction Chaillot – Théâtre National de la Danse (Paris), Opéra de Saint-Etienne, Donostia Kultura - Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián – Ballet T, CCN Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

Partenaires Opéra de Reims, Théâtre de Gascogne - Le Pôle, Theater Bonn (Allemagne), Forum am Schlosspark – Ludwigsburg (Allemagne)

 

Durée de l’œuvre intégrale 70’

Ballet pour 22 danseurs