Les Créatures Ludwig van Beethoven / Thierry Malandain


There were many nights, many mornings, then one day the first man was born a dancer. Alone, he would spin, with his arms extended towards no one else, then he was given the first woman as a partner. Dancing together was nicer, but he soon wished to create new movements. To answer it, they invited other creatures to join them. This is the way humanity multiplied. The time passing, they qualified the dance of baroque, romantic and classic. Until the moment when the temptation of a more liberated dance blew in the veils of a enchanting alma. As she turned into a flower, a butterfly, a flame or a storm, Loïe Fuller fascinated them with her “Serpentine Dance”. Joining her, other artists from the New World brought about new aspirations : later, there was Doris Humphrey, for whom “falling and starting again” were the very essence of movement. A new horizon lay ahead of Ballet. Adam and Eve went towards it, leaving Paradise behind. On their way, they learned that they would, from then on, dance by the sweat of their brow and that pain would be part of the creation of new steps. That is when Cain pounced on Abel…

Thierry Malandain


created on 15th November 2003
at la Gare du midi, Biarritz

music Ludwig van Beethoven (Les Créatures de Prométhée)
choreography Thierry Malandain
set and costumes Jorge Gallardo
lighting design Jean-Claude Asquié

coproduced by Theatre Arriaga of Bilbao, Grand Theatre de Reims, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

duration of the entire ballet 67’
ballet for 16 dancers

Nominated for the "Benois de la Danse" in Moscow and Prize of the Critics for the best foreign performance at the 19th International festival of Ballet in La Havane (Cuba) in 2004



The sacred fire

« A top class Creation by a choreographer who, like Prometheus, passes on the sacred fire to his creatures. The remarkable artists of Ballet Biarritz.»

Le Figaro, René Sirvin, 23rd June 2003

Hommage à la Danse

«A very high quality work, with stringent technical demands of the highest level, achieved by Bsallet Biarritz with convincing perfection. »

El Diario Vasco, Ana Remiro, 21st June 2003

« Here Malandain showed as much inventively in the ensembles than in the duos. These are as varied as the personalities of their interpreters, […] all remarkable dancers, who can express, in their own way, the powerful and earthy style of Thierry Malandain. »

Ballet 2000, Sonia Schoonejans, July 2003

« The lightness, the audacity of a poetic choreography, all in contrasts served by dancers whose athletic sensuality is clear. »

Danse, Emérentienne Dubourg, June 2003

« After you saw such a Creation, you could feel a sense of exultation, as if you were carried away by something that simplifies and elevates you. […] We admire the modesty and culture of a Thierry Malandain always in quest for the unreachable. We admire Ballet Biarritz dancers. »

Danse, Sylvia Chaban, September 2003

« Ballet Biarritz is a disciplined company evolving with enthusiasm and spontaneity. The ensemble is of remarkable construction and rigour. The precision emerging from its work on stage is maybe one of the characteristics of the company. […] Les Créatures is a charming choreographic piece, in which Malandian shares his perception of the history of dance and humanity. And his dancers experience it with true passion. »

El Correo, Karmelo Errekatxo, January 2004

« Ballet Biarritz perfomed at the Internationl Ballet Festival of Havana with a creation by its brilliant choreographer – an aesthete who approaches body language with perfection and profundity. […] The fourteen dancers are a permanent source of energy on stage and show a rare mastery of their bodies, always radiant, eloquent and expressive. »

Cubarte, Anubis Galardy, November 2004

« This magnificently constructed ballet shows superb choreographic art.»

Figaro Magazine, François Deletraz, 27th June 2003

« His latest piece is a monument. »

Madame Figaro, Ariane Bavelier, 21st February 2004

Les Créatures Ludwig van Beethoven / Thierry Malandain


Il y eut plusieurs soirs, plusieurs matins, puis un jour, le premier homme naquit danseur. Seul, il tournait sur lui-même, ses bras ne tendaient vers nul autre, alors il reçut la femme pour partenaire. Danser à deux était mieux, mais bientôt vint le désir de composer de nouvelles figures. Pour y répondre, ils invitèrent d’autres créatures à se joindre à eux. C’est ainsi que l’humanité se multiplia. Le temps passant, ils qualifièrent la danse baroque, romantique et classique. Jusqu’au moment où la tentation d’une chorégraphie plus libérée souffla dans les voiles d’une almée féerique. Tour à tour, fleur, papillon, flamme ou tempête, Loïe Fuller les fascina avec sa "Danse Serpentine". Avec elle, quelques artistes du Nouveau Monde apportèrent d’autres aspirations : Isadora Duncan, en quête des mouvements innés de l’Homme, dansant sur la cinquième symphonie de Beethoven, celle que l’orchestre entame par pom, pom, pom, pom !  Ne pouvant résister, ils en croquèrent. Plus tard, il y eut  Doris Humphrey, pour qui « chuter et se ressaisir » constituait l’essence même du mouvement. Un nouvel horizon s’ouvrait à la Danse. Adam et Eve suivirent sa direction, laissant derrière eux le Paradis. En chemin, ils surent qu’ils évolueraient désormais à la sueur de leur front, tandis qu’inventer de nouveaux pas se ferait dans la douleur. C’est alors que Caïn se jeta sur Abel…

Thierry Malandain


créé le 18 juin 2003
à la Gare du Midi de Biarritz
sous le titre « Création »

musique Ludwig van Beethoven (Les Créatures de Prométhée)
chorégraphie Thierry Malandain
décor et costumes Jorge Gallardo
conception lumière Jean-Claude Asquié

coproduction Teatro Arriaga de Bilbao, Grand Théâtre de Reims, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

durée de l’œuvre intégrale 67’
ballet pour 16 danseurs

Nominé aux Benois de la Danse à Moscou et Prix de la Critique du meilleur spectacle étranger au 19èmeFestival International de Ballet de la Havane à Cuba en 2004



Le feu sacré

« Une Création magistrale par un chorégraphe qui, tel Prométhée, transmet le feu sacré à ses créatures: les remarquables artistes du Ballet Biarritz. »

Le Figaro, René Sirvin, 23 Juin 2003

Hommage à la Danse

« Le résultat est une œuvre d’une très grande qualité, avec une exigence technique du plus haut niveau que l’extraordinaire Ballet Biarritz, réalise avec une perfection convaincante. »

El Diario Vasco, Ana Remiro, 21 Juin 2003

« Malandain fait ici preuve d’une inventivité dans les ensembles autant que dans les duos. Ceux-ci sont aussi variés que le sont les personnalités des interprètes, [...] tous remarquables danseurs, capables de rendre, chacun à leur façon, le style puissant et terrien de Thierry Malandain. »

Ballet 2000, Sonia Schoonejans, juillet 2003

« La légèreté, l’audace d’une poésie chorégraphique, toute en contraste s’impose grâce à des danseurs dont la sensualité athlétique est une évidence. »

Danse, Danse, Danse, Emérentienne Dubourg, juin 2003

« On se sent soi-même exulter après une telle Création, comme porté vers quelque chose qui simplifie et élève.[...] Admiration aussi pour la modestie et la culture d’un Thierry Malandain toujours en quête de l’inaccessible. Admiration pour les danseurs de Ballet Biarritz. »

Danse, Sylvia Chaban, septembre 2003

« Ballet Biarritz est une compagnie disciplinée qui évolue avec enthousiasme et naturel. L’ensemble est d’une construction et d’une rigueur remarquable. C’est peut-être l’une des caractéristiques de la compagnie, la précision qui se dégage de son travail en scène. [...] Création est une pièce chorégraphique pleine de charme où Malandain nous donne sa vision de l’histoire de la danse et de l’humanité. Et ses danseurs la vivent avec une véritable passion. »

El Correo, Karmelo Errekatxo, janvier 2004

« Le Ballet Biarritz s'est produit au Festival de Ballet de La Havane avec un spectacle de son brillant chorégraphe: un esthète qui aborde la matière des corps avec profondeur et perfection. [...] Ces quatorze danseurs sont une source d'énergie permanente sur la scène et révèlent une maîtrise, peu commune, de leurs corps, toujours rayonnants, éloquents et expressifs. »

Cubarte, Anubis Galardy, novembre 2004

« Ce ballet à la construction magistrale témoigne d’une superbe écriture chorégraphique. »

Figaro Magazine, François Deletraz, 27 juin 2003

« Sa dernière pièce est un monument. »

Madame Figaro, Ariane Bavelier, 21 février 2004