The project


Since its establishment in Biarritz in 1998, Malandain Ballet Biarritz has always wished to establish solid contacts with the Southern Basque Country and more particularly with the Gipuzcoan capital San Sebastián. In 2000, the company gained the support of the Diputación Foral de Gipuzcoa and the European Interreg IIIA programme.
In 2002, these cross-border relationships led to the creation of Dantzaz Association and a Choreographic Public Awareness Centre established in San Sebastián. In 2005, the Diputación Foral de Gipuzcoa and the Basque Autonomous Government gave a new impulse to the cross-border project, by supporting the creation of Ballet Biarritz Junior, which became independent under the name Dantzaz Konpainia in the end of 2008.
The Cross-border Choreography Centre project started in 2007, on the occasion of the Teatro Victoria Eugenia reopening. Malandain Ballet Biarritz established a partnership with the city of San Sebastián and the Teatro Victoria Eugenia, for which he received the support of the European Interreg IVA programme. From that date, Malandain Ballet Biarritz and the Teatro Victoria Eugenia defined the actions that need to be taken to make dance more accessible and to encourage the development of choreography on the Basque Country territory from both sides of the border.
The creation of Ballet-T, the first Cross-border Choreography Centre in Europe, was made official by the signature of a convention of objectives between Malandain Ballet Biarritz and the Teatro Victoria Eugenia, the city of Biarritz and the city of San Sebastián on the 26th March 2011. The Teatro Victoria Eugenia serves as headquarters for the centre, while Malandain Ballet Biarritz is in charge of its coordination and direction.

BALLET T objectives :
To promote the choreographic cultures with a joint artistic project made as accessible as possible
To encourage the creation of a cross-border Malandain Ballet Biarritz troupe
To promote the dialogue between artists and audiences on the cross-border territory
To create an unprecedented common repertoire shared between San Sebastián and Biarritz
To initiate cooperation between the cultural institutions located on the cross-border territory

To find out more about the project activities, please visit Ballet T website : www.ballet-t.eu

New convention 2015-2020


A new agreement 2015-2020 for the development of a Euroregional Choreographic Cooperation Centre (Pôle de coopération chorégraphique eurorégional)

Following the positive results and a new development project, the Malandain Ballet Biarritz and the Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián have renewed the agreement on objectives and finances for a term of five years. This agreement relates to the cultural cooperation project "Ballet T" that has been conducted in Northern and Southern Basque Country since 2007 thanks to the support of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), which was initiated and developed by the France-Spain-Andorra Cross-border Cooperation Operational Programme. Biarritz and Donostia / San Sebastián city officials who have been supporting the project since it began have also signed the agreement.

The signing took place at the Teatro Victoria Eugenia on Thursday 12th of March in presence of Michel Veunac, mayor of Biarritz, and Juan Karlos Izagirre, mayor of Donostia / San Sebastián, as part of dFeria, an unmissable event organised every year by the Teatro Victoria Eugenia. This event aims at displaying the latest creations from Basque, Spanish and international artists to six hundred professionals working in the performing arts sector. A ten-minute-long documentary recounting the activities of Ballet T and realised by Morgan Creativos was shown on this occasion.

DSS 2016


As part of the programming line "Conversations" Donostia / San Sebastián 2016 European Capital of Culture, « Le Bal de la Belle et la Bête » took place at the Teatro Victoria Eugenia Donostia / San Sebastián , Saturday, February 6.

With Arnaud Mahouy  as dancing master, accompanied by the Malandain Ballet Biarritz’s dancers, participants celebrated in an original and friendly way "dance together" by being invited to cross the border between the auditorium and the stage, and to experience the show with a unique perspective.

After an initial warm-up and learning of choreographic phrases, participants were able to express in a festive atmosphere and live a unique experience on the Victoria Eugenia Theatre scene of Donostia / San Sebastián with of all our dancers.

Les Estivales 2018


In the framework of the Estivales 2018, Malandain Ballet Biarritz will propose 5 performances of Noah in Donostia/San Sebastián and in Biarritz. 

- In San Sebastián, at the Victoria Eugenia Antzokia at 8pm, the 31st of July and 1st of August

- In Biarritz, at the Gare du Midi at 9pm, the 08th, 09th and 10th of August


And what if dance was inspired by the story of Noah's Ark and the Flood ? 
Thierry Malandain has accepted the challenge and created an ode to mankind. 


Reservations :

Performances en San Sebastián : 

Tuesday 31 July on this link

Wednesday 1 July on this link

Performances en Biarritz : 

Wednesday 08 August on this link

Thursday 09 August on this link

Friday 10 August on this link

Office de Tourisme de Biarritz - 05 59 22 44 66

Uhain Berria


Uhain Berria - New Wave Project

Artistic and societal or environmental commitment, a familiar refrain... Yet, the urgency and the intensity of environmental issues is ever increasing, among hundreds of other issues, global warming, which affects the planet and the coastlines with coastal erosion, flooding, drinking water sources polluted by sea water, rising water levels, warming of sea temperatures causing instability in ecosystems.... 

As a coastal region, the Basque Country (where Malandain Ballet Biarritz is located) is directly concerned as far as its lifestyle, businesses (tourism, blue economy, etc.), culture, etc. 

Consequently, in conjunction with its 2017- 2019 artistic project, Malandain Ballet Biarritz with Victoria Eugenia Antzokia de Donostia/San Sebastian and the Surfrider Foundation Europe (NGO), have undertaken an “Art & Environment” programme to raise public awareness concerning the importance of coastal conservation. Beginning with a performance, an artistic gesture, like a “hummingbird”, the “Uhain Berria” project participants will try to raise public awareness and even change behaviour, as trivial as that may seem. The Noé ballet choreographed by Thierry Malandain is the first milestone of this initiative. In 2018, Martin Harriague (Artist in residence at the Biarritz CCN) created Sirènes and other creative artists will also take part in this project. 

Concerned due to its local roots and aware of the interdependence connecting all of us, with the watchful eye of its public education, Malandain Ballet Biarritz is thus committed to coastal conservation via the Noé and Sirènes ballet performances based on its experience raising public awareness and cultural outreach.

Webdocumentaire sur la création de Noé de Thierry Malandain (réalisation : Morgan Crea)


Webdocumentaire sur les actions de sensibilisation autour du Ballet Noé de Thierry Malandain (réalisation : Morgan Crea)

 

Webdocumentaire sur la création de Sirènes de Martin Harriague (réalisation : Morgan Crea)

Le projet


Depuis son implantation à Biarritz en 1998, Malandain Ballet Biarritz a toujours souhaité tisser des liens avec le Pays Basque Sud et plus particulièrement avec la capitale guipuzcoane San Sebastián. En 2000, il reçoit le soutien de la Diputación Foral de Guipuzcoa et de l’Europe – Fonds Européens Interreg III A.
En 2002, cette ambition transfrontalière permet la création de l’Association Dantzaz et d’un Centre de Sensibilisation Chorégraphique implanté à San Sebastián. Soutenu par la Diputación Foral du Guipuzcoa et du Gouvernement autonome basque, le projet connaît un nouvel élan avec la fondation du Ballet Biarritz Junior en 2005, lequel devient autonome fin 2008 sous l’appellation Dantzaz Konpainia.
Le projet de Centre Chorégraphique Transfrontalier a débuté à l’occasion de la réouverture du Teatro Victoria Eugenia en 2007. Ainsi, Malandain Ballet Biarritz a mis en place un partenariat avec la Ville de San Sebastián et le Teatro Victoria Eugenia, pour lequel il a bénéficié des Fonds Européens Interreg IV A. C’est à partir de cette date que le Malandain Ballet Biarritz et le Teatro Victoria Eugenia définissent les actions à mettre en œuvre pour favoriser l’accessibilité des publics à la danse et accompagner des deux côtés de la frontière l’essor de l’Art Chorégraphique sur le territoire du Pays Basque.
Le 26 mars 2011, la création du Ballet-T, premier Centre Chorégraphique Transfrontalier d’Europe, est officialisée par la signature d’une convention d’objectifs par le Malandain Ballet Biarritz et le Teatro Victoria Eugenia, les villes de Biarritz et San Sebastián. Son siège se trouve au Teatro Victoria Eugenia alors que le Malandain Ballet Biarritz prend en charge sa coordination et sa direction.

Les objectifs du BALLET T :
promouvoir les cultures chorégraphiques en portant un projet artistique commun, accessible au plus grand nombre
favoriser l’émergence d’une troupe à vocation transfrontalière Malandain Ballet Biarritz
faire dialoguer les artistes et les publics sur le territoire transfrontalier
créer un répertoire commun, inédit entre San Sebastián et Biarritz
initier des coopérations entre les structures culturelles implantées sur le territoire transfrontalier

Pour en savoir plus, le site Ballet T recense toutes les activités du projet : www.ballet-t.eu  

Nouvelle convention 2015-2020


Une nouvelle convention 2015-2020 pour le développement d’un Pôle de coopération chorégraphique eurorégional

Fort d’un bilan positif et d’un nouveau projet de développement, le Malandain Ballet Biarritz et le Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián ont renouvelé, pour une période de cinq ans, la convention d’objectifs et de moyens qui encadre leur projet de coopération culturelle « Ballet T » mené sur le territoire du Pays Basque Nord et Sud depuis 2007, grâce au soutien des Fonds Européens de Développement Régional (FEDER), initié et développé par le Programme Opérationnel de Coopération Territoriale Espagne-France-Andorre (POCTEFA). Les villes de Biarritz et de Donostia / San Sebastián qui soutiennent ce projet depuis ses débuts sont également signataires de cette convention.

En présence de Michel Veunac, maire de Biarritz et de Juan Karlos Izagirre, maire de Donostia / San Sebastián, la signature de cette convention s’est déroulée au Teatro Victoria Eugenia, le  jeudi 12 mars, dans le cadre de dFeria, rendez-vous incontournable du secteur des arts de la scène organisé chaque année par le Teatro Victoria Eugenia, qui permet aux six cents professionnels présents de découvrir les dernières productions des artistes basques, espagnols et de la scène internationale. A cette occasion, un documentaire de dix minutes retraçant les activités de Ballet T (réalisation : Morgan Creativos) a été présenté. 

DSS 2016


Dans le cadre de la ligne de programmation « Conversations » de Donostia / San Sebastián 2016, Capitale Européenne de la Culture, s'est déroulé le Bal de la Belle et la Bête qui s'est déroulé au Teatro Victoria Eugenia de Donostia / San Sebastián, le Samedi 6 février. 
Sous l’égide du maître à danser, Arnaud Mahouy accompagné des danseurs du Malandain Ballet Biarritz, les participants ont célèbré de manière originale et conviviale « le danser ensemble » en étant invité à passer la frontière entre la salle et la scène, et vivre le spectacle d’un point de vue inédit.
Après un premier échauffement et l’apprentissage de phrases chorégraphiques, les participants ont pu s'exprimer dans une ambiance festive et vivre une expérience inédite sur la scène du Théâtre Victoria Eugenia de Donostia/San Sebastián en compagnie de l’ensemble de nos danseurs.

Les Estivales 2018


Dans le cadre des Estivales 2018, Malandain Ballet Biarritz proposera à San Sebastián 2 représentations de Noé et 3 représentations à Biarritz : 

- A San Sebastián au Victoria Eugenia Antzokia à 20h, les 31 juillet et 1er août

- À Biarritz, à la Gare du Midi à 21h, les 08, 09 et 10 août

"A travers le mythe du Déluge, commun à diverses traditions, la figure réjouissante de Noé incarne une sorte de rupture dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Résumant le passé et préparant l'avenir, elle symbolise la naissance d’un nouveau monde, meilleur que le précédent. Une seconde Création gommant la première altérée par le mal et la défaillance des hommes. Par conséquent, un nouvel Adam, non pas tiré de la terre, mais tiré de l’eau, qui dans la Genèse intervient d’abord comme un élément mortel avant d’être symbole de vie, puisqu’au sortir de l’Arche, à la fois matrice et berceau, Noé et les siens vont repeupler le Monde."
Thierry Malandain

Réservations :

- Représentations au Victoria Eugenia Antzokia - Donostia / San Sebastián

Le 31 juillet sur ce lien 

Le 1er août sur ce lien

- Représentations à la Gare du Midi - Biarritz

Le 08 août sur ce lien

Le 09 août sur ce lien

Le 10 août sur ce lien

Office de Tourisme de Biarritz
05 59 22 44 66
www.tourisme.biarritz.fr

Office de Tourisme de Bayonne
Office de Tourisme de Anglet
Office de Tourisme de Saint-Jean-de-Luz

Uhain Berria


Uhain Berria - La nouvelle vague

Artiste et engagement sociétal ou environnemental, une vieille antienne… 

Et pourtant, l’urgence et l’acuité des enjeux environnementaux vont en s’amplifiant, entre cent celui du réchauffement climatique, qui impacte la planète et ses littoraux : érosion des côtes, inondations, pollution des nappes phréatiques d’eau potable par de l’eau marine saline, montée des eaux, réchauffement de la mer avec le déséquilibre des écosystèmes…. 

En tant que région côtière, le Pays basque, territoire d’implantation du Malandain Ballet Biarritz, est directement concernée sur les plans de son cadre de vie, de ses activités (tourisme, économie bleue…), de sa culture… 

Ainsi dans le cadre de son projet artistique 2017- 2019, le Malandain Ballet Biarritz avec le Victoria Eugenia Antzokia de Donostia / San Sebastián et l’ONG Surfrider Foundation Europe, s’engage dans un programme « Art et environnement » de sensibilisation des publics à l’enjeu de préservation du Littoral. A partir d’une création, d’un geste artistique, tels un « colibri », les acteurs du projet « Uhain Berria » vont tenter de provoquer une prise de conscience voire un changement de comportement – fut-il anodin du public. Noé ballet chorégraphié par Thierry Malandain est le premier jalon de cette initiative. En 2018, Martin Harriague, artiste en résidence au CCN de Biarritz, créé Sirènes et d’autres créateurs s’engageront aussi dans ce projet. 

Soucieux de son enracinement territorial et conscient de l’interdépendance qui nous relie tous, le Malandain Ballet Biarritz avec le regard bienveillant de ses tutelles publiques, s’engage donc sur cet enjeu de préservation du littoral à partir des ballets Noé et Sirènes et en s’appuyant sur son expérience de sensibilisation des publics et de médiation culturelle.

Webdocumentaire sur la création de Noé de Thierry Malandain (réalisation : Morgan Crea)


Webdocumentaire sur les actions de sensibilisation autour du Ballet Noé de Thierry Malandain (réalisation : Morgan Crea)

 

Webdocumentaire sur la création de Sirènes de Martin Harriague (réalisation : Morgan Crea)