Pulcinella Malandain / Stravinski


A foray of commedia dell'arte with its cheekiness, burlesque situations, and ridiculous characters. To entertain the audience, we put on disguises, brag, and tease one another. Sometimes we die, but not for very long because ultimately in the end everyone gets married.

 

The ballet is based on a manuscript called "I Quattro Pulcinelli" that Serge Diaghilev discovered in Naples. This unpublished text included several structures on the basis of one kind from the commedia dell’arte - Pulcinella. Diaghilev entrusted Igor Stravinsky with composing the musical score based on selections from Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, and the ballet was performed in Paris on 15 May 1920 choreographed by Léonide Massine, while the set and costumes were designed by Pablo Picasso. 

 

Summary

The action takes place in Naples and tells the story of Pulcinella’s love affairs. The latter, despite his love for Pimpinella, cannot avoid seducing other women, from Rosetta to Prudenza, as well as Mrs. Tartaglia. His infidelity gets him into trouble before everyone kisses and gets married.

Etymologically speaking, the character of Pulcinella, whose humpback and belly originally made him look like a chicken, got his name from pullus gallinaceus or more commonly known as chicken. This definition makes it possible to give the ballet’s hero a village cock’s traits - mischievous and philandering. This is a comedy, overflowing with elements from commedia dell’arte, an art without subtitles from which I’ve kept the original spirit, appeal and bawdiness.

Thierry Malandain


Performed on 16 April 1991 by the Temps Présent Company

at l’Esplanade de Saint-Etienne

New production Malandain Ballet Biarritz

on 19 May 2001 at the Gare du Midi in Biarritz

 

Music Igor Stravinsky

Choreography Thierry Malandain

Set and costumes Jorge Gallardo

Lighting design Jean-Claude Asquié

 

Full length of the performance 38 minutes

Ballet for 12 dancers

 

Dancers – Malandain Ballet Biarritz

Pulcinella Cyril Lot

Pimpinella Nathalie Verspecht

Madame Tartaglia Giuseppe Chiavaro

Rosetta Magali Praud

Prudenza Adriana Pous Ojeda

Coviello Olivier Jedrasiak

Florindo Mikel Irurzun del Castillo

The Doctor Thierry Taboni

Three Neapolitans Lyane Lamourelle, Rosa Royo, Luisa Sancho Escanero

 

Video by Georges Flores, May 2004



“Thierry Malandain has fourteen terrific dancers that give his quirky mix of idiomatic movement and ballet technique a sharp, clean edge. [...] Pulcinella becomes a pleasant but lightweight retelling. Its adventures of obscene Neapolitan characters are Frenchified. There was good dancing from all, especially Cyril Lot as Pulcinella and from Nathalie Verspecht, a powerful classical dancer, as his sweetheart. [...]"

The New York Times, Anna Kisselgoff, 7 November 2002

Soft-skinned Ballets (Switzerland)

“Thierry Malandain’s reinterpretation is consistent with respect and transgression. […] The choreographer never betrays the playful, gentle and rambunctious spirit of Pulcinella. The dancers revel in theatrics borrowed from the Commedia dell'arte without forgetting their weightlessness. Sex and death become burlesque while losing neither their beauty nor their sacredness.”

L'Express, Alexandre Caldara, December 2004

Happy Little Rats

“You didn’t dare to tell him that it’s a ballet, afraid that he’d tell you that ballet is for girls. Nor did you dare to tell him that it’s a love story, afraid that he’d shrug his little boy shoulders in disdain. You’ve just told him that is was Pulcinella at the Passage Theatre, a show for children... So obviously, when the ballet began, with a minimalist grey set and pastel skirts, accompanied by Stravinsky, you wondered if he’d make it through one hour. In reply to his first question, “When are they going to tell the story?”, you whispered that actually, they tell it with their bodies, their gestures and that even without words, he’ll understand... And then the charm cast its spell. As usual. The child got wrapped up in the story, gently caught up in the magic of the music and the flow of the dance sequences. You took a quick look around the room - sunk into their chairs, the other children are reveling in the same magic. Not one sigh. Not one single “When does it end?”. It’s simply beautiful. On stage, the doctor resuscitates Pulcinella whose only flaw is that he’s too good-looking. The children laugh at the man dressed in white - err, in green. And more importantly, the children ask good questions - “Why is a man playing the mum?”, one boy in front dares to ask, when the choreographer passes the microphone to the audience brimming with questions. We leave the theatre and head back out into the madness of a Saturday afternoon in December. We’re surprised to find shops still open. Noise and frenzy. “Mum, is Pulcinella nice or cheeky?”, the little angel asks. He breathes in the cold air and asks, “Can we go to McDonald’s?”. Welcome back to earth...”

L'Express, December 2004

“Malandain’s Pulcinella […] keeps the liveliness, debauchery and cheekiness of the character without resorting to parody or preposterousness. […] Great mastery of the commedia dell’arte!”

Ballet2000, Sonia Schoonejans, June 2001

“Pulcinella is a lightweight comedy. […] The dancers, dressed in pale pink, green and grey, perform the choreography gracefully, and it’s all very charming and witty.”

The Arts Cure / USA, January 2003

Pulcinella Malandain / Stravinski


Une irruption dans la commedia dell'arte avec ses impertinences, ses situations burlesques, ses personnages grotesques. Histoire d'amuser la galerie, on se déguise, on fanfaronne, on s'asticote. Parfois on meurt, mais jamais très longtemps car au final tout le monde convole en justes noces.

 

À l’origine de la création de ce ballet, un manuscrit titré "I Quattro Pulcinelli" que Serge Diaghilev découvrit à Naples. Ce texte inédit contenait plusieurs canevas ayant pour motif l'un des types de la commedia dell’arte: Pulcinella. Diaghilev confia à Igor Stravinsky le soin d’orchestrer des pages musicales attribuées à Giovanni Battista Pergolèse, et le ballet fut présenté à Paris le 15 mai 1920 dans une chorégraphie de Léonide Massine, tandis que Pablo Picasso signait le décor et les costumes. 

 

Synopsis

L’action se déroule à Naples et raconte les aventures amoureuses de Pulcinella. Ce dernier, malgré son amour pour Pimpinella, ne peut éviter de séduire la gente féminine, de Rosetta à Prudenza, en passant par la mère Tartaglia. Son infidélité lui jouera des tours avant que tous s'embrassent et convolent en justes noces.

Etymologiquement, le personnage de Pulcinella, dont la bosse et le ventre lui donnaient à l’origine une allure de volaille, emprunterait son nom au pullus gallinaceus ou plus communément poulet. Cette définition permet de donner au héros du ballet les traits d’un coq de village espiègle et libertin. Il s’agit d’une comédie, farcie des ingrédients de la commedia dell’arte, un art sans sous-titre dont j’ai conservé l’esprit, la saveur et le croustillant d’origine.

Thierry Malandain


créé le 16 avril 1991 par la Compagnie Temps Présent à l’Esplanade de Saint-Etienne

nouvelle production Malandain Ballet Biarritz le 19 mai 2001 à la Gare du Midi de Biarritz

 

musique Igor Stravinski

chorégraphie Thierry Malandain

décor et costumes Jorge Gallardo

conception lumière Jean-Claude Asquié

 

durée de l’œuvre intégrale 38’

ballet pour 12 danseurs

 

artistes chorégraphiques – Malandain Ballet Biarritz

Pulcinella Cyril Lot

Pimpinella Nathalie Verspecht

Madame Tartaglia Giuseppe Chiavaro

Rosetta Magali Praud

Prudenza Adriana Pous Ojeda

Coviello Olivier Jedrasiak

Florindo Mikel Irurzun del Castillo

Le docteur Thierry Taboni

Trois napolitaines Lyane Lamourelle, Rosa Royo, Luisa Sancho Escanero

 

réalisation vidéo Georges Flores, mai 2004



Thierry Malandain a quatorze fantastiques danseurs qui rendent lisibles et dynamiques son curieux mélange de mouvements idiomatiques et classiques. [...] Pulcinella devient une nouvelle histoire, agréable et légère avec ses aventures de personnages napolitains obscènes et francisés. Tous dansaient bien, en particulier Cyril Lot Pulcinella et Nathalie Verspecht, puissante danseuse classique. [...]

The New York Times, Anna Kisselgoff, 7 novembre 2002

Des ballets à la peau douce (SUISSE)

La relecture de Thierry Malandain s'inscrit dans le respect et la transgression. […] Le chorégraphe ne trahit jamais l'esprit ludique, tendre et endiablé de Pulcinella. Les danseurs se vautrent dans une théâtralité empruntée à la Commedia dell'arte sans oublier leurs corps en apesanteur. Le sexe et la mort deviennent burlesques sans perdre ni leur beauté, ni leur sacralité.

L'Express, Alexandre Caldara, décembre 2004

Au bonheur des petits rats

Vous n'avez pas osé lui dire que c'était de la danse : peur qu'il vous réponde que la danse c'est pour les filles. Vous n'avez pas non plus osé lui dire que c'était une histoire d'amour : peur qu'il hausse ses épaules de petit mec d'un air dédaigneux. Vous lui avez juste dit que c'était Polichinelle, au Théâtre du Passage, un spectacle pour enfants... Alors évidemment, lorsque le ballet a commencé, décor gris minimaliste et jupes pastels, avec Stravinsky derrière, vous vous êtes demandé s'il tiendrait une heure. À sa première interrogation – «Ils la racontent quand, l'histoire?» – vous avez chuchoté qu'en fait, ils la décrivent avec leur corps, leurs gestes et que même sans mots, il la comprendrait... Et puis le charme a opéré. Comme toujours. L'enfant est entré dans l'histoire, doucement s'est fait prendre par la magie de la musique et de la fluidité des enchaînements. Vous avez jeté un œil dans la salle : enfoncés dans leur fauteuil, les autres enfants goûtent le même enchantement. Pas un soupir. Pas un seul « ça finit quand ? ». C'est beau. C'est tout. Sur scène, le docteur ramène à la vie Pulcinella dont le seul défaut est d'être trop beau gosse. Les enfants rient à l'homme en blanc – heu, en vert. Et, surtout, les enfants posent les bonnes questions: «Pourquoi c'est un monsieur qui joue la maman ? », ose un garçon devant, au moment où le chorégraphe tend le micro à la salle avide de questions. On ressort dans la folie d'un samedi après-midi de décembre. Choc des magasins encore ouverts. Bruit, fureur. «Maman, Polichinelle, il est gentil ou coquin ? », demande l'ange. Qui hume l'air froid : « Et maintenant, on va au Mc Do ? » Retour sur terre...

L'Express, décembre 2004

Le Pulcinella de Malandain […] garde la vivacité, le libertinage et l’espiéglerie du personnage sans tomber dans la parodie ou le grotesque. […] De la commedia dell’arte hautement maîtrisée !

Ballet2000, Sonia Schoonejans, juin 2001

Pulcinella est une comédie légère. […] Les danseurs, vêtus de rose pâle, de vert et de gris, interprète la chorégraphie avec légèreté et tout cela est charmant et plein d’esprit.

The Arts Cure, Etats-Unis, janvier 2003