Le Cid Malandain / Massenet


First performed at the Opéra Comique on 30 November 1885, Le Cid is an opera quickly composed by Jules Massenet between November 1884 and April 1885 based on a libretto by Adolphe d'Ennery, Louis Gallet and Edouard Blau, which in turn was based on a play by Pierre Corneille. As with other French operas, a ballet was added to this work which Massenet composed at a hotel in Marseille’s Vieux-Port in May 1885. In this very entertaining piece, he makes reference to Spain, its rhythms and atmosphere. I’ve freely adapted Castilian, Andalusian, Aragonese, Catalan, and Navarrese traditional dances without trying to renew their authenticity. With just a wall at the back of the stage, the dance unfolds with no other purpose than that of searching for its own meaning. Le CID - Choreography that’s Indirectly Defined.

 

Thierry Malandain


Performed on 26 November 1999

at l’Esplanade de Saint-Etienne

 

Music Jules Massenet

Choreography Thierry Malandain

Set and costumes Jorge Gallardo

Lighting design Jean-Claude Asquié

 

Coproduction Festival Massenet, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

Full length of the performance 40 minutes

Ballet for 12 danseurs

 

Dancers Giuseppe Chiavaro, Isaïas Jauregui, Olivier Jedrasiak, Lyane Lamourelle, Cyril Lot, Carole Philipp, Adriana Pous Ojeda, Magali Praud, Christophe Roméro, Thierry Taboni, Brigitte Valverde, Nathalie Verspecht

 

Video by Georges Flores, April 2000



“From Castilian to Navarrese, an oriental serenade to a bolero, Malandain embodies pure dance with duets, quartets and ensembles, expressing sensuality, humour, freshness…”

Progrès, Claudie Léger, 27 November 1999

“C.I.D. with its six Spanish dances is a lively and exhilarating gem. The dancers give it all they’ve got accompanied by Massenet’s music. Refusing to make it a Spanish-influenced performance, Malandain has succeeded in creating enchanting entertainment, demonstrating the Biarritz ballet’s talent.”

Danser, Antoine Livio, January 2000

“According to Thierry Malandain who he himself questioned the outcome of such music; the only boundary was a wall created by Set Designer Jorge Gallardo. Used as a prop, obstacle, and a balcony overlooking the horizon, this powerful symbolic element frames abstract and graphic choreography playing with lights and shadows. Dance emerges from this contrasting scenario between matching anthracite-coloured flesh and costumes - flight, landing, clashes, and races. The choreographer’s solid style is brilliant.”

Les Saisons de la danse, Emerentienne Dubourg, January 2000

“This is 100% pure Malandain, full of mischief and subtlety, difficult to dance.”

Danse conservatoire, Michel Odin, January 2000

Le Cid Malandain / Massenet


Créé à l'Opéra Comique le 30 novembre 1885, Le Cid est un opéra que Jules Massenet composa rapidement entre novembre 1884 et avril 1885 sur un livret de Adolphe d'Ennery, Louis Gallet et Edouard Blau, d'après la pièce de Pierre Corneille. Suivant une spécificité de l'art lyrique français, un ballet est inséré dans cet ouvrage, Massenet le compose en mai 1885 dans un hôtel du Vieux-Port de Marseille. Dans ce Grand divertissement, il fait référence à l’Espagne, ses rythmes et son atmosphère. Ainsi se succèdent: castillane, andalouse, aragonaise, catalane, navarraise, autant de danses traditionnelles que je traite librement, sans chercher à renouer avec leur caractère authentique. Devant un mur qui clôt la scène, la danse se déploie sans autre objet que la quête de son propre sens. Le CID, Chorégraphie Indirectement Déterminée.

 

Thierry Malandain


créé le 26 novembre 1999

à l’Esplanade de Saint-Etienne

 

musique Jules Massenet

chorégraphie Thierry Malandain

décor et costumes Jorge Gallardo

conception lumière Jean-Claude Asquié

 

coproduction Festival Massenet, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

durée de l’œuvre intégrale 40’

ballet pour 12 danseurs

 

artistes chorégraphiques Giuseppe Chiavaro, Isaïas Jauregui, Olivier Jedrasiak, Lyane Lamourelle, Cyril Lot, Carole Philipp, Adriana Pous Ojeda, Magali Praud, Christophe Roméro, Thierry Taboni, Brigitte Valverde, Nathalie Verspecht

 

réalisation vidéo Georges Flores, avril 2000



Le retour de Malandain

« De la Castillane à la Navarraise, de la sérénade orientale au boléro, Malandain donna corps à la danse pure en duos, quatuors et figures d’ensemble, exprimant sensualité, humour, fraîcheur… »

Progrès, Claudie Léger, 27 novembre 1999

Jules Massenet prophète chez lui

« « C.I.D. » et ses six danses espagnoles est un bijou de vitalité et d’exaltation. Les danseurs mordent à pleines dents dans la musique de Massenet. Refusant l’espagnolade, Malandain a réussi un divertissement enchanteur, mettant en valeur les qualités du ballet Biarritz. »

Danser, Antoine Livio, Janvier 2000

Allègre

« Selon Thierry Malandain qui s’est lui-même interrogé sur la destinée d’une telle musique. Il n’avait qu’une limite celle d’un MUR, Matériel Utilisé pour la Réalisation, dû au décorateur Jorge Gallardo. Servant de support, d’obstacle, de balcon sur l’horizon, cet élément de puissante charge symbolique cadre une chorégraphie abstraite, graphique, jeu d’ombres et de lumières. La danse naît de cette écriture de contrastes entre la chair et les costumes uniformément anthracites : envol, retombées, accrochages, courses. Le style trempé du chorégraphe fulgure. »

Les Saisons de la danse, Emerentienne Dubourg, Janvier 2000

« Voilà du 100% pur Malandain, plein de facétie et de finesse, difficile à danser. »

Danse conservatoire, Michel Odin, Janvier 2000