L'envol d'Icare Malandain / Schnittke


The ballet L’Envol d’Icare or The Flight of Icarus was created as part of a tribute to Serge Lifar and was performed with Suite en Blanc (1943) and Les Mirages (1947)

By inviting men to not rise above human nature, the ancient moral of the myth of Icarus serves as a warning against hubris. However, Icarus is also symbolic of a human desire to defy gravity. We might accuse the teenager of disobeying or madly wanting to defy the Gods. But by flying too close to the sun, perhaps he simply wanted to admire it close up. At the beginning, there is a labyrinth, representing Man and his nature, but also a theatre in which Icarus, obscure in his own mind, goes towards the light. In this game, the Minotaur becomes his concealed inner monster - a Chimera that he must destroy to break with animalistic domination. By rebelling, he is Theseus, killing the creature to be free of it. Aided by Ariadne, the monster’s sister and the daughter of the “wide-shining” Pasiphaë, he manages to leave the labyrinth’s darkness to assert his radiant and holy side. Jacques Attali wrote, “All of the labyrinth parables tell this quadruple tale in one form or another - a journey, hardship, an initiation and resurrection”. The resurrection takes place here during the successive metamorphoses of the Minotaur, Theseus and Icarus. It’s the same dancer who leaves darkness and reaches the light. By his side, Ariadne, the daughter of the sun and moon by his side, unrolls the thread of this journey, adapted from ancient recollections.

Thus fourteen dancers symbolize the number of tributes given to the Minotaur. Their dancing which weaves various movements together is a reminder of the crane dance, the forerunner of the farandole, reflecting the labyrinth’s twists and turns. And finally, to earn heaven’s favours on New Year’s Day in Palestine, a ritual ceremony would end with a winged man leaping into thin air, sacrificing himself for the benefit of all mankind. A ritual that we’ll turn upside down, as everyone will sacrifice themselves to fulfil the myth. Except for Icarus who is still alive.

Thierry Malandain


Performed on 9 November 2006

at the Opéra national de Paris (Paris National Opera House)

 

Music Alfred Schnittke

Choreography Thierry Malandain

Set and costumes Alain Lagarde

Lighting design Jean-Claude Asquié

 

Full length of the performance 30 minutes

Ballet for 14 dancers

 

Dancers from the Paris Opera Ballet

Benjamin Pech and Nolwenn Daniel

Christelle Granier, Amélie Lamoureux, Charlotte Ranson, Julie Martel, Juliane Mathis, Ninon Raux, Mallory Gaudion, Emmanuel Hoff, Gil Isoard, Jean-Philippe Dury, Samuel Murez, Francesco Vantaggio

 

Paris National Opera Orchestra directed by Vello Pähn

 

Video by Opéra national de Paris (Paris National Opera House), October 2006



"More of a freestyle performance than a tribute, this short ballet is enchanting with sweeping and waving effects, and even a stylised game of feathers which turn into wings on Benjamin Pech’s shoulders. This illustrative effect is regrettable however when Malandain follows the music of Alfred Schnittke’s magnificent Concerto for Piano and Strings too closely; though Lifar would’ve enjoyed this evening. "

Les Echos, Philippe Noisette, 16 October 2006

"Then came L'Envol d'Icare, created by Thierry Malandain for the Opera’s dancers. The title and theme are a tip of the hat to Lifar’s Icarus but nothing more. As for the rest, one might be surprised by the theme of flight from a choreographer as eminently down to earth as Malandain. At the core of this ballet with primitive palpitations, a hero that’s part Daedalus, Icarus and Theseus is alternately absorbed or turned away by the group, an impulsive and overpowering circular dance; a sort of chosen one to put it simply, but who will find the passage to another place. The flight itself doesn’t take place, just enormous wings unfurling; gorgeous. Benjamin Pech, a handsome and touching chosen one, does not stand up on the tip of one of the remarkable diving boards designed by Alain Lagarde. He lies down, stomach and thighs pressed against the board like a heavy piece of meat on the butcher’s block. It’s this heaviness, this sensual gravity which is so appealing with Malandain, heavy arms, closed fists, and a rounded back. It’s both a simple and mysterious ballet, with no tricks and straightforward, which follows Schnittke’s score brilliantly - soothing, hammering, lyrical, disturbing, wonderfully elusive and perfectly fitting for this labyrinth. Mélanie Hurel’s beautiful rendition of Ariadne should be noted as well as Alain Lagarde’s amazing props and costumes. Should be seen again and again; a ballet that’s gaining ground. "

Altamusica.com, François Fargues, 17 October 2006

"Thierry Malandain asserts his extremely personal style and writing with remarkable musical quality. He reinvents the solar myth with Benjamin Pech - which is his first performance as principal dancer - and impressive ensembles and farandoles."

Le Figaro, Isabelle Danto, October 2006

The Flight of Icarus, A Rite of Passage

"Malandain ultimately choreographed his version of the myth of Icarus to the musical score of Russian-Volga German composer Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998), in this particular case, his Concerto for Piano and Strings, written in 1979. It’s a distinctly more optimistic version than the one told by the old moral because it has a happy end. By bringing together the emblematic figures of the Minotaur, Theseus and Icarus with one dancer, Thierry Malandain proposes a rite of passage leading to an actual resurrection, the flight of Icarus, the last incarnation which demonstrates Man’s “radiant and holy side”. By openly being a “classical aesthetic explorer”, Thierry Malandain breaks away from conventional codes via freedom and remarkably fluid agility. Playing a man walking towards the light, Benjamin Pech (principal dancer) embodies the role of the hero with incredible strength and vitality, giving each one of his faces the depth of spiritual metamorphosis. A splendid incarnation."

Classictoulouse.com, Robert Pénavayre, 17 October 2006

"Inspired more by the myth and its consequences than by the character himself, Thierry Malandain has created a coherent piece of work, with Mediterranean-style light that’s almost like the sea. We’re in Crete or any place where the sun is the central element. Not surprising since the nymph Pasiphaë was his daughter, right? And didn’t Icarus die when his wings were burned by the sun? Subtler, his creation of circular dances, seemingly simple yet beautiful and polished writing, don’t they allude to the round dances which were the forerunners to choreography since time immemorial? And what about this Icarus, multifaceted and changing, who dreams of flying or who wants to defy human nature - doesn’t he look like any other dancer? Performed by a fine cast which brings together Benjamin Pech and Nolwenn Daniel, both equally charming and powerful, and accompanied by Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Piano and Strings, this Icarus is definitely Malandain taking flight. "

Danser, Agnès Izrine, November 2006

"With L’Envol d’Icare, Thierry Malandain offers us a performance which alludes to the myth of the labyrinth without actually being narrative. He approaches his work as Serge Lifar’s worthy heir, through referent movements which typify dance. So for example, the Minotaur doesn’t have horns, but clenches his fists and thus gives meaning to his bodily states. Constantly searching for symbolism, Malandain wonderfully expresses emotion through dance and its culture, all why respecting Opera tradition. Well suited for this company of which the establishment’s influence can be felt in the work’s conception, this ballet, both musical and harmonious, nonetheless evokes innovating aesthetics, which is rarely seen in current contemporary creations; aesthetics in which one feels both filiation, as well as great freedom in adaptation. In this way, the choreographer uses the cohesion of the corps de ballet in the ensemble scenes to highlight the soloists Nolwenn Daniel and Benjamin Pech, whereas normally, the dancers of his company, with very different physiques and personalities, make him go in another direction in his creative process. The stage design contributes to the overall harmony, as well as the props, costumes, and lighting which serve the musical quality that’s so important to the choreographer. "

Danse, Jérôme Frilley, November 2006

"In the second ballet, L'envol d'Icare, Thierry Malandain's first creation for the Paris Opera Ballet, the director of the "Centre Chorégraphique National" in Biarritz played around with his subject. Finding the music by J.E. Szyfer and Arthur Honegger used in Lifar's own 1935 ballet, Icare, somewhat dated, he substituted a score by Schnittke created for The Labyrinth, a ballet which tells the story of the seven young girls and seven youths sent from Athens to feed the Minotaur, that half-bull, half-human creature imprisoned in Crete by King Minos. Theseus, aided by the king's daughter and Dedale, the architect who built the maze, overcomes the bull, but Dedale is punished and shut in the maze with his son, Icarus. The work ends when Icarus, escaping from his prison with wings of wax, goes too close to the sun, melts them and goes crashing back to earth. “While my ballet springs from the tale of the Minotaur”, Malandain told me, “it's an abstract work with, for example, movements which recall the horns of the bull”. The French choreographer had already created a ballet some years ago, Les creatures, also inspired by Lifar's 1929 work, and his familiarity with the style of Les Ballets Russes as well as with the qualities of the Paris dancers was evident. He had also staged his personal versions of Bolero, Pulcinella, L'après-midi d'un faune, and Spectre de la rose successfully for his own company, and this new work was a harmonious ballet, ideally suited to the interpreters and the occasion. Malandain is a choreographer with a language of his own who can adapt it to the dancers he's working with, and while they initially did not have his style, they soon absorbed it, he told me. Jérémie Bélingard, a dancer with an untameable wild streak, was particularly well-cast as Theseus/Icarus."

Culturekiosque.com, Patricia Boccadoro, 2 November 2006

L'envol d'Icare Malandain / Schnittke


Ballet créé dans le cadre d’un hommage à Serge Lifar et représenté avec Suite en Blanc (1943) et Les Mirages (1947).

En invitant les hommes à ne pas se hisser au-dessus de leur condition, la morale antique fait du mythe d’Icare un avertissement contre l’orgueil. Toutefois, Icare est aussi la figure symbolique d’une aspiration humaine à s’affranchir de la pesanteur. On accusera l’adolescent de désobéissance ou d’avoir follement voulu défier les Dieux. Mais, en s’approchant du soleil, peut-être voulait-il seulement l’adorer de plus près ? Au commencement, il y a le labyrinthe, une représentation de l’Homme et de sa condition, mais aussi un théâtre où Icare obscur à lui-même va vers la lumière. A ce jeu, le Minotaure devient le monstre enfoui en lui. Une chimère qu’il doit détruire pour rompre avec une domination flairant l’animal. En se révoltant, il est Thésée, tuant la créature pour s’en affranchir. Aidé par Ariane, sœur du monstre et fille de Pasiphaé « la toute lumière », il parviendra à quitter l’obscurité du labyrinthe pour affirmer sa dimension lumineuse et sacrée. « Tous les mythes du labyrinthe racontent d’une façon ou d’une autre cette quadruple histoire : un voyage, une épreuve, une initiation et une résurrection » écrit Jacques Attali. Cette résurrection s’accomplit ici à travers la métamorphose successive du Minotaure, de Thésée et d’Icare. Il s’agit du même interprète qui de l’obscur accède à la lumière. A ses côtés, Ariane, fille de la lune et du soleil, déroule le fil de ce voyage que nous ferons ajuster aux souvenirs antiques.

Ainsi quatorze danseurs rappelleront le nombre versé en tribu au Minotaure. Leur danse tressant des figures variées, se souviendra de la danse de grue, l’ancêtre de la farandole, qui témoignait des méandres du labyrinthe. Enfin, pour s’attirer les bienfaits du ciel au jour de la nouvelle année en Palestine, une cérémonie rituelle s’achevait par la précipitation dans le vide d’un homme portant des ailes, sacrifié pour le bien de tous. Un rituel que nous renverserons, puisque tous se sacrifient pour accomplir le mythe. Sauf Icare, toujours vivant.

Thierry Malandain


créé le 9 novembre 2006

à l’Opéra national de Paris

 

musique Alfred Schnittke

chorégraphie Thierry Malandain

décor et costumes Alain Lagarde

conception lumière Jean-Claude Asquié

 

durée de l’œuvre intégrale 30’

ballet pour 14 danseurs

 

artistes chorégraphiques du Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

Benjamin Pech et Nolwenn Daniel

Christelle Granier, Amélie Lamoureux, Charlotte Ranson,Julie Martel, Juliane Mathis, Ninon Raux, Mallory  Gaudion, Emmanuel Hoff, Gil Isoard, Jean-Philippe Dury, Samuel Murez, Francesco Vantaggio

 

Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Paris direction Vello Pähn

 

réalisation Opéra national de Paris, octobre 2006



"Moins hommage qu'exercice libre, cette courte pièce charme avec ses effets de rondes ou de vagues, voire ce jeu de plumes stylisées qui se transforment en ailes sur les épaules de Benjamin Pech. On regrette pourtant cet effet d'illustration lorsque Malandain colle trop à la musique, le magnifique concerto pour piano et cordes d'Alfred Schnittke. Mais Lifar aurait aimé cette soirée."

Les Echos, Philippe Noisette, 16 octobre 2006

"Suit l'Envol d'Icare, création de Thierry Malandain pour les danseurs de l'Opéra. Titre et thème sont un clin d’oeil à l'Icare de Lifar et rien de plus. On peut du reste s'étonner du thème de l'envol chez un chorégraphe aussi éminemment terrien que Malandain. Au coeur de cette pièce aux palpitations primitives, un héros mi-Dédale, Icare et Thésée est tour à tour absorbé ou refoulé du groupe, une ronde pulsionnelle et entêtante ; une façon d'élu en somme mais qui trouvera le passage d'un ailleurs. L'envol, lui, n'aura pas lieu, juste un immense déploiement d'ailes ; somptueux. Benjamin Pech, bel et poignant élu, ne s'élèvera pas du bord d'un de ces plongeoirs superbes conçus par Alain Lagarde. Il s'allonge, ventre et cuisses plaqués à cette planche comme une chair lourde sur l'étal du boucher. C'est cette pesanteur, cette gravité sensuelle qui plait chez Malandain, les bras lourds, poings fermés, le dos rond. Voici un ballet simple et mystérieux à la fois, sans trucs, sans artifices, qui suit magnifiquement la partition de Schnittke, apaisante martelante lyrique, inquiétante, prodigieusement insaisissable et seyant parfaitement à ce parcours du labyrinthe. À noter la très belle interprétation de Mélanie Hurel en Ariane et le décor et les costumes étonnants d'Alain Lagarde. À voir et surtout revoir ; une pièce qui fait son chemin. "

Altamusica.com, François Fargues, 17 octobre 2006

"Thierry Malandain affirme un style très personnel et une écriture d’une musicalité remarquable. Il réinvente le mythe solaire avec Benjamin Pech - dont c’est la première création en tant qu’étoile - et des danses d’ensemble et farandoles impressionnantes. "

Le Figaro, Isabelle Danto, octobre 2006

L'Envol d'Icare, une démarche initiatique

C'est finalement sur une musique du compositeur russe d'origine allemande Alfred Schnittke (1934/1998), en l'occurrence son concerto pour piano et cordes, créé en 1979, que Thierry Malandain a chorégraphié sa vision du mythe d'Icare. Une vision sensiblement plus optimiste que celle transmise par la morale antique puisque se terminant par un happy end. Réunissant pour un même danseur les figures emblématiques du Minotaure, de Thésée et d'Icare, Thierry Malandain propose une démarche initiatique aboutissant à une véritable résurrection, l'envol d'Icare, la dernière incarnation démontrant « la dimension lumineuse et sacrée » de l'Homme. Se posant ouvertement en « explorateur de l'esthétique classique », Thierry Malandain s'affranchit des codes traditionnels par une liberté et une souplesse d'une remarquable fluidité. Incarnant cet homme en marche vers la lumière, Benjamin Pech (étoile) s'empare du héros avec une force et une vitalité incroyables, donnant à chacun de ses visages la profondeur de la métamorphose spirituelle. Une somptueuse incarnation.

Classictoulouse.com, Robert Pénavayre, 17 octobre 2006

"Plus inspiré par le mythe et ses prolongements que par le personnage lui-même, Thierry Malandain a su créer une œuvre claire, aux lueurs presque maritimes, à l’allure méditerranéenne. On est en Crête ou n’importe où sous le soleil dont on sent qu’il est l’élément central. Pas étonnant, Pasiphaë, la nymphe, n’était-elle pas sa fille ? Et, Icare, n’est-il pas mort de s’y être brûlé les ailes ? Plus subtil, sa création de danses en rond, apparemment simples mais d’une belle écriture ciselée, ne font-elles pas référence à ces rondes qui, depuis la préhistoire, inventent la chorégraphie ? Et, cet Icare, multiple et changeant, qui rêve d’envol ou veut défier la condition humaine ne ressemble-t-il pas à tous danseur ? Servi par une distribution superbe qui réunit Benjamin Pech et Nolwenn Daniel, égaux en charme et en puissance, et par le superbe Concerto pour piano et cordes d’Alfred Schnittke, cet Icare est bien l’envol de Malandain."

Danser, Agnès Izrine, novembre 2006

Thierry Malandain nous offre, avec l’Envol d’Icare, une création qui sans être véritablement narrative, évoque le mythe du labyrinthe. Il aborde son travail en digne héritier de Serge Lifar, à travers des gestes référents qui qualifient la danse. Ainsi, par exemple, le Minotaure n’a pas de cornes, mais serre les poings et donne ainsi un sens à ses états de corps. Constamment en quête de symbolisme, Malandain traduit merveilleusement l’émotion à travers la danse et sa culture, tout en respectant la tradition de l’Opéra. Bien adapté à cette maison dont on sent dans la conception de l’œuvre le poids de l’institution, ce ballet à la fois musical et harmonieux évoque néanmoins une esthétique novatrice, ce que l’on voit peu dans les créations contemporaines actuelles, esthétique dans laquelle on sent à la fois une filiation, mais également une grande liberté d’adaptation. Ainsi, le chorégraphe utilise l’homogénéité du corps de ballet dans les scènes d’ensembles, pour mettre en valeur les solistes Nolwenn Daniel et Benjamin Pech, tandis qu’habituellement, les danseurs de sa compagnie, aux physiques et personnalités très différentes lui font parcourir un autre chemin dans le processus de création. La scénographie participe à l’harmonie d’ensemble, les décors, les costumes, les éclairages étant au service d’une musicalité si chère au chorégraphe.

Danse, Jérôme Frilley, novembre 2006

Dans le second ballet, L'envol d'Icare, première création de Thierry Malandain pour le Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris, le directeur du Centre Chorégraphique National de Biarritz a envisagé son sujet sous toutes ses facettes. Considérant un peu datée la musique de J.E. Szyfer et Arthur Honegger utilisée dans l’Icare de Lifar de 1935, il l’a remplacée par une musique de Schnittke créée pour le Labyrinthe, ballet qui narre l’histoire de sept jeunes femmes et sept jeunes hommes envoyés d’Athènes pour nourrir le Minotaure, créature mi-taureau mi-homme emprisonnée en Crète par le roi Minos. Aidé par la fille du roi et par Dédale, architecte du labyrinthe, Thésée terrasse le taureau, mais Dédale est puni et enfermé dans le labyrinthe avec son fils Icare. L’œuvre se termine lorsqu’Icare, s’échappant de la prison grâce à des ailes de cire, s’approche trop près du soleil, les fait fondre, et s’écrase à terre. « Mon ballet est certes une émanation de l’histoire du Minotaure », m’a expliqué Thierry Malandain « mais c’est un travail d’abstraction avec, par exemple, des mouvements qui évoquent les cornes du taureau ». Il y a des années, le chorégraphe français avait déjà mis au point Les créatures, ballet également inspiré du travail de Lifar de 1929. Sa familiarité avec le style des ballets russes et les qualités des danseurs de Paris y était évidente. Pour sa propre compagnie, il avait déjà mis en scène avec succès ses propres versions de diverses œuvres : le Bolero, Pulcinella, L'après-midi d'un faune, et le Spectre de la rose. Ce nouveau travail a donné un ballet harmonieux, parfaitement adapté à ses interprètes et à l’occasion. Malandain est un chorégraphe qui possède son langage propre et sait l’adapter aux danseurs avec lesquels il travaille. Si, au départ, ils n’avaient pas son style, ils l’ont vite embrassé, m’a-t-il confié. Jérémie Bélingard, danseur sauvage et indomptable, y incarnait particulièrement bien Thésée/Icare.

Culturekiosque.com, Patricia Boccadoro, 2 novembre 2006