Chambre d'amour Malandain / Cabalette


The Chambre d’amour is a legendary cave on the Basque coast where two lovers perished long ago. Located on the side of a cliff, this cavity formed by the sea’s ebb and flow echoes all of the mysteries connected to life and death.

The tale says they were named Ura and Ederra (water and beauty in Basque). They had taken shelter in the cave when, in the throes of love, the incoming tide took them by surprise. The next morning their bodies were found locked in each other’s arms on the sand. By dying, Ura and Ederra joined the ranks of other literary star-crossed lovers such as Romeo and Juliet, Othello and Desdemona … our Chambre d’amour reminds us of them.

I like to think that these shattered fates originated from the parable of Genesis. When Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit from the tree of knowledge of good and evil, they were banished from the Garden of Eden. Their immortality taken away, they then entered the dualistic material world; a world which from then on would be punctuated by the cadence of life and death.

So is love a nostalgic quest for lost unity? It is said that our lovers transcend this love when they die. Is the darkness just a passageway, the night before the sun that rises every morning over the Chambre d’amour?

Thierry Malandain


Performed on 13 May 2000

at the Gare du Midi in Biarritz

 

Music Peïo Çabalette

Choreography Thierry Malandain

Set design and costumes Jorge Gallardo

Lighting design Jean-Claude Asquié

 

Coproduction Théâtre de Saint-Quentin en Yvelines Scène Nationale, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Orchestre Régional Bayonne Côte Basque, Biarritz Culture, Diputación Foral de Gipuzkoa, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

Full length of the performance 60 minutes

Ballet for 14 dancers

 

Dancers Giuseppe Chiavaro, Mikel Irurzun del Castillo, Isaïas Jauregui, Olivier Jedrasiak, Lyane Lamourelle, Cyril Lot, Carole Philipp, Adriana Pous Ojeda, Magali Praud, Christophe Roméro, Luisa Sancho Escanero, Thierry Taboni, Brigitte Valverde, Nathalie Verspecht

 

Video by Georges Flores



Thierry Malandain’s Creation - a Basque Country Legend

“[…] “The show is abstract and more thematic than narrative. It’s a parable of Paradise lost, the fall of man and renewed immortality”, Thierry Malandain explains. […] “The spirit of this production is to renew the tradition of ballet with an original score”, Malandain affirms. This is his first collaboration with a composer.”

Danser No.188, Jacky Pailley , May 2000 (“Bande-annonce” section)

Eros and Thanatos

“[…] It flows marvelously from an individual dancer to a pas de deux duet, then to a group ensemble with admirable fluidity, and in my opinion, the most meaningful choreographic successes can be found in the dance ensemble’s movements with all of the dancers on stage, diagonally, in symmetrical and asymmetrical groups; truly impressive. Yet it leaves room for individuality to reveal itself. […] It’s high quality work overall; maybe it just needs time to mature to reach the highest level.”

, Carlos Gil

Tragic Destinies - La Chambre d’Amour by Thierry Malandain in Biarritz

“[…] This old tale has inspired Thierry Malandain - among French neoclassical choreographers, he is the most passionate music lover, meditating on tragic love stories. […]”

Ballet Tanz, Thomas Hahn

Love in Mourning

“[…] Relying on an original and highly entertaining score by Peio Çabalette, which doesn’t hide his admiration for Maurice Ravel, Malandain has created a well done performance, in which mangled bodies keep being washed ashore by the tide and creating new legends.”

Danser No.190, J. C. Diénis, July-August 2000 (“côté scène – comptes rendus” section)

Ballet Biarritz Thierry Malandain - La Chambre d’Amour

“Long awaited, this Biarritz creation is, first of all, a collaboration between choreographer Thierry Malandain and Basque composer Peio Çabalette. […] It’s tempting for Thierry Malandain to pay this fitting tribute to Biarritz where he manages the most recent CCN (National Choreography Centre) founded in 1998, and to work on the couple’s unity and transcendence, its contradictions, and its symbiosis. […] he has avoided this narrative approach and has built, on a very rich sounding score, but which is also surprisingly complex, a lucidly abstract piece where groups alternate with couples in a succession of flowing “moments”, coloured by intense movement, by the dramatic significance of the couple’s relationship, by the confrontation or abandonment of bodies. This is how every kind of human anxiety and turmoil is suggested, in symbiosis with the highly diverse musical dramaturgy of Peio Çabalette who cultivates an acoustic space mixed with poetry, fluidity, power and pain. […] Each one exudes the drama’s nuances and progression with sensitivity and wit. Such emotional commitment, what mastery! No narrative indulgence by the choreographer. Only the appropriate body language allows each dancer to “feed” their character incrementally, the company’s ensemble slightly plays the role of a chorus in ancient Greek tragedies. […] Thierry Malandain fills his choreography with bold and playful lifts, sequences that are unexpected yet always psychologically accurate in which gestures, bodies, glances, and smiles carve the very epitome of violently sacrificed happiness. […] With La Chambre d’Amour, following 16 years of successful creations, Thierry Malandain has produced an ambitious and original piece of work whose success places the French choreographer on the same level as Kylian, long before other more publicized names. The Ballet Biarritz Company has taken on a new dimension. There’s no shortage of projects in the works. […]”

Danse, Sylvia Chaban

Chambre d'amour Malandain / Cabalette


La Chambre d’amour est une grotte légendaire de la Côte basque où jadis périrent deux amants. Situé à flanc de falaise, ce ventre fécondé par l’océan résonne de tous les mystères liés à la vie et la mort.

L’histoire les nomme Ura et Ederra (eau et beauté en Basque). Ils étaient réfugiés dans la grotte quand, tout au bonheur de s’aimer, ils se virent surpris par la marée qui avançait. Au matin, on découvrit leurs corps enlacés sur le sable. En mourant, Ura et Ederra rejoignent la littérature des amants dont l’idéal amoureux est brisé par le destin : Roméo et Juliette, Othello et Desdémone, … notre Chambre d’amour les évoque.

Il me plaît de penser que ces destins brisés trouvent leur origine dans le mythe de la Genèse. Lorsque Adam et Eve mangent le fruit de l’arbre de la connaissance du bien et du mal, ils sont contraints de quitter l’unité du Paradis. Dépossédés de l’éternité, ils entrent alors dans le monde dualiste de la matière. Un monde qui, sur l’axe du temps, sera dorénavant rythmé par la vie et la mort.

L’amour serait-il alors la quête nostalgique de l’unité perdue ? Il est dit que nos amants transcendent cet amour dans la mort. Les ténèbres ne sont-elles qu’un passage, la nuit d’un soleil qui se lève chaque matin sur la chambre d’amour ?

Thierry Malandain


créé le 13 mai 2000 à la Gare du Midi de Biarritz

 

musique Peïo Çabalette

chorégraphie Thierry Malandain

décor et costumes Jorge Gallardo

conception lumière Jean-Claude Asquié

 

coproduction Théâtre de Saint-Quentin en Yvelines Scène Nationale, Esplanade de Saint-Etienne, Orchestre Régional Bayonne Côte Basque, Biarritz Culture, Diputación Foral de Gipuzkoa, Malandain Ballet Biarritz

 

durée de l’œuvre intégrale 60’

ballet pour 14 danseurs

 

artistes chorégraphiques Giuseppe Chiavaro, Mikel Irurzun del Castillo, Isaïas Jauregui, Olivier Jedrasiak, Lyane Lamourelle, Cyril Lot, Carole Philipp, Adriana Pous Ojeda, Magali Praud, Christophe Roméro, Luisa Sancho Escanero, Thierry Taboni, Brigitte Valverde, Nathalie Verspecht

 

réalisation vidéo Georges Flores



Création de Thierry Malandain : Une légende du Pays Basque

« […] « Le spectacle est abstrait et se situe plus au niveau thématique que narratif. C’est une parabole du Paradis perdu, de la chute et du retour à l’éternité » explique Thierry Malandain. […] « L’esprit de cette production est de renouer avec la tradition du ballet avec une partition originale », affirme Malandain dont c’est la première collaboration avec un compositeur. »

Danser n°188, Jacky Pailley , mai 2000 (rubrique « Bande-annonce »)

Éros et Thanatos

« […] On passe très bien de l’individualité au pas de deux, à des moments d’ensemble de la compagnie avec une fluidité admirable et selon moi, les réussites chorégraphies les plus significatives e nichant dans les mouvements d’ensemble avec tous les danseurs sur scène, en diagonale, en groupes symétriques ou asymétriques, réellement impressionnants. Mais tout cela en laissant de l’espace, pour que les individualités se révèlent. […] Dans son ensemble, c’est un travail de grande qualité, peut être lui manque t’il ce temps de maturité pour attendre la catégorie la plus élevée. »

, Carlos Gil

Destinées Tragiques : « La Chambre d’Amour » par Thierry malandain à Biarritz

« […] Ce vieux conte a inspiré à Thierry Malandain, le plus passionné de musique des chorégraphes néo-classiques français, une méditation sur les destinées amoureuses tragiques. […] »

Ballet Tanz, Thomas Hahn

L’amour en deuil

« […] S’appuyant sur une partition originale et haute en couleur de Peio Çabalette, qui ne dissimule pas son admiration pour Maurice Ravel, Malandain a signé une pièce de belle facture, où la marée n’en finit pas de rejeter des corps brisés et de construire des légendes. »

Danser n°190, J. C. Diénis, juillet-août 2000 (rubrique « côté scène – comptes rendus »)

Ballet Biarritz Thierry Malandain : La chambre d’amour

« Très attendue, cette création biarrote est, d’abord, une rencontre : celle du chorégraphe Thierry Malandain et du compositeur basque Peio Çabalette. […] Tentant pour Thierry Malandain de rendre ainsi un bel hommage à Biarritz où il dirige le dernier CCN crée en 1998, et de travailler sur le couple sur son unité et sa transcendance, sur ses oppositions et sa complémentarité. […] Il a fui cette voie narrative et a construit, sur une partition d’une grande richesse sonore, mais aussi d’une surprenante complexité, une pièce à l’abstraction limpide où les groupes alternent avec les couples dans une succession de « moments » fluides, colorés par l’intensité du geste, par la signifiance dramatique des rapports du couple, par l’affrontement ou l’abandon des corps. Sont ainsi suggérés toutes les tensions et les tourments humains, en symbiose avec la dramaturgie musicale très contrasté de Peio Çabalette qui développe un espace sonore traversé de poésie, de fluidité, de puissance et de douleur. […] Chacun distille avec sensibilité et intelligence les nuances et la progression du drame. Quel investissement émotionnel, quelle maîtrise ! Nulle complaisance narrative de la part du chorégraphe. Seule la gestuelle appropriée permet à chacun de « nourrir » son personnage par paliers, l’ensemble de la compagnie jouant un peu le rôle du chœur grec dans les tragédies antiques. […] Thierry Malandain émaille sa chorégraphie de portés audacieux ou ludiques, d’enchaînements inattendus mais psychologiquement toujours justes où les gestes, les corps, les regards, les sourires cisèlent l’essence même d’un bonheur sacrifié par la violence. […] Avec la Chambre d’Amour, Thierry Malandain signe, après 16 ans de création fructueuses, une œuvre ambitieuse et originale dont la réussite place le chorégraphe français à l’égal d’un Kylian, et bien avant d’autres noms plus médiatisés. La compagnie Ballet Biarritz en acquiert une nouvelle dimension. Les projets ne lui manquent pas. […] »

Danse, Sylvia Chaban